Zelah Green by Vanessa Curtis

I changed things around a bit for the winter book challenge, and ended up reading Zelah Green for the category “Read a book with a person’s first and last name in the title”. Some editions are called Zelah Green: Queen of Clean). This category is worth 20 points.

The plot: Zelah Green is a cleanaholic. She spends most of her time running away from germs. And dirt. And people (who tend to be covered in both of those things). She thinks she’s doing just about okay at coping with her “little problem”, as she refers to it, but then her stepmother packs her off to some kind of hospital in the middle of nowhere with a load of strangers who all have issues of their own…

My review: In case you hadn’t guessed from the description, this book is about a girl with OCD. Except she doesn’t like to call it that, because giving things a name makes them real. The reading age is listed as 11+, which would explain why it’s a little simplistic in places and Zelah makes progress incredibly quickly once at the hospital, but I thought the author did an excellent job of showing how OCD can make normal life almost impossible for sufferers – it’s not just being obsessive about living in a clean house or getting annoyed if things aren’t arranged perfectly, as so many people seem to think (those who like to use the phrase “I’m sooo OCD about X”). I also really liked the character of Zelah Green. At 246 pages, it’s a quick read (I got through it in my lunch break!), but a nice one. I must have liked it – I’ve order the next Zelah Green book (One More Little Problem) to find out what happens next! I gave this one 4 stars.

I’ve actually already read a few other books for the challenge, which I haven’t reviewed all of here, so I’m at 65 points now.

2 thoughts on “Zelah Green by Vanessa Curtis

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

