A day in Manchester

Ugh, I’m a terrible blogger! Not only have I not posted in daaays… today’s post is about a day trip we took in October! Between being busy and, quite honestly, sheer lack of motivation, I’m way behind!
Anyway… while we were in England in October, we decided we wanted to have a couple of days away by ourselves rather than spending time just with my family. I knew I wanted to see the Wave exhibition at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, so we started looking into other places in Yorkshire. Then Jan pointed out that Manchester is only an hour from there, he had never been and I’d only made it as far as the airport. Plus my ex-housemate from uni days lives in Salford. And so the decision was made… Manchester it was.

I know I have a few readers from the Manchester area, so I hope none of you will be offended when I say it’s not my favourite city. Sorry! Culturally, there’s a lot going on – if we’d wanted to, we could have spent a week visiting all its museums! But it’s just too… cityish for me. It’s crowded, it’s loud, and while there are some nice buildings, they’re few and far between. I’m glad we visited, but I’m afraid I wouldn’t want to live there!

It was fairly sunny when we arrived, so after parking the car, we decided to just wander around for a while and see what we could find. And, in my case, take photos.

Maybe too many photos?

We also managed to buy some blue trousers for Jan (which he needed for a choir performance), having failed to find any he liked that fit him in Newcastle… so yay Manchester for that.

You may have noticed the sky getting rather cloudy in the last few photos above. At around 2 p.m., the heavens opened… after it had been such bright sunshine all morning. Yep, we were definitely in England! Obviously we needed shelter! My friend had recommended the John Rylanda Library as a place to check out and earlier in the day we had noticed a sign saying it had an exhibition on the gothic, which sounded interesting, so that’s where we went. The building is pretty cool – it looks like a converted church, except it never was a church… it was just built like that. Again, I took too many photos, but when you see them you’ll (hopefully) understand why.

By the time we’d finished with the library, it was pretty much time to meet my friend. Luckily by that time the rain had also stopped since we were meeting outdoors! On the way to meet him we ended up down by the river.

My friend was slightly late meeting us (something to do with trams), so we sat in the little park next to the tram stop and I tried to take photos of rainbows. It’s harder than it looks!

Can you see them? Click the photos for a bigger version.

After we met my friend, we asked him to recommend a place to eat – that’s what locals are for, after all πŸ˜‰ He took us to an amazing Thai place that I wish I could remember the name of! It was right by the Chinatown gate if that helps any locals. I ate incredible beef in a pepper sauce – so good it was all gone before it occurred to me to take a photo! Afterwards, we stopped at a pub around the corner for a few pints (by this time it was chucking it down again!), then it was time to leave my friend, pick up the car and drive back to our hotel in Yorkshire.

If anyone ever finds themselves in Manchester I would love to recommend a Thai restaurant for you to eat at… but unfortunately, I can’t πŸ˜‰

12 thoughts on “A day in Manchester

  1. I totally see the rainbow!! I loved Manchester when I went, but I wasn’t there during the day, we just went out for a few drinks in the evening and then (if memory serves me right) to some sort of drag strip club or something weird like this.

    1. Hahaha, drag strip club sounds awesome!
      I can see how Manchester would be great for drinks/a night out, and they have loooads of restaurants, museums, etc. I just couldn’t live anywhere that big and modern/gray.

  2. The library looks amazing. I love libraries like that. I initially went to University in Manchester when I was 18. I felt very unsafe there. I really didn’t like it all and I dropped out. I decided on a smaller, less built up city for University. Although that’s now over 20yrs ago, Manchester still doesn’t appeal. I did go to the Christmas markets a couple of years ago. Having said that – Shazza did a great post about some really interesting looking places in Manchester so I’m sure there are some great spots worth exploring.

    1. Yeah, I can see there being loads of good places if you know what you’re looking for, but I could never live somewhere like that!
      I went to uni in Nottingham, but all my lectures were on a campus outside the city so I never actually had to live in Nottingham proper.

  3. I’ve only been to Manchester once, for a PhD interview, so all I saw of the city was the train station and a few bits from the window of a bus. Maybe one day, I’ll have to check it out properly, although, as a city, it usually falls into the “not for me” category.

    1. There is some interesting architecture – the library was my favourite , but there is also a lot of grey, cityish type stuff (high rises, etc.). I only took photos of the good stuff πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

