25 Get to Know Me Questions

Today I want to something slightly different. I’ve done similar things before (like an A to Z of Me), but it’s been a while and I think I’ve acquired a few new readers since then (hi new readers!)

I spotted this particular set of questions on Ellie’s blog, This Country Girl’s Journal, and since she asked her readers to join in, I thought I would.

Baby me
Does anyone recognise this person?

1. What is your middle name?: Ann. It’s my grandma’s name and was also the name of a great grandma I never met, but I’m not sure whether my parents named me after either of them or just picked it because it’s such a middle-namey kind of name (seriously, I can think of at least 8 people with the middle name Ann(e)!)

2. What was favourite subject at school?: English for all the reading and Food Tech because I’ve always liked food šŸ˜‰

3. What is your favourite drink?:Ā Tea! Soft drink probably Dandelion and Burdock. Alcoholic changes regularly.

4. What is your favourite song at the moment?:Ā  My all time favourite song is Wind Beneath My Wings by Bette Midler, closely followed by Landslide by Fleetwood Mac and Desperado by The Eagles. Right now I rarely listen to music, but when I do it’s Sister Hazel more often than not, so I’ll say my current favourite is Change Your Mind by them.

5. What is yourĀ favouriteĀ food?: I hate this question! How can you expect me to pick just one?! Potatoes, garlic, sweet potato, cheese, pumkin, Yorkshire parkin, cottage pie, Sunday roast, Swiss chocolate… I’m hungry now!

6. What is the last thing you bought?: Books. Always books.

7. FavouriteĀ book of all time?: Again, NOPE! You cannot expect me to pick just one book! But, since you said all time, I’ll only include ones I read more than 10 years ago that have stuck with me. A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond, Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett, So Much to Tell You by John Marsden, Each, Peach, Pear, Plum by Janet and Allen Ahlberg.

8. FavouriteĀ colour?: Red

9. Do you have any pets?: Sadly, no. I want a dog, but in Germany I thought it was unfair with us both working full time and in Switzerland you have to do a course and get a certificate before you’re allowed to own one! Then there’s the small matter of getting permission to keep one in the flat…

10. FavouriteĀ perfume?:Ā I don’t know. It was Liberte by Cacherel, but it’s been discontinued.

11. FavouriteĀ holiday?: Well, New Zealand was pretty amazing, but so were Taiwan and Madeira. EDIT: I’ve just realised this was probably originally American since I changed all the “colors” to “colour”, so “holiday” probably means like public holiday. In which case pancake day, because who doesn’t like a day devoted to pancakes?

12. Are you married?:Ā No.

13. Have you ever been out of the country, if so how many times?: Out of which country? I was born in England but clearly don’t live there now so umm… stupid question ;-).

14. Do you speak any other language?: German (but not Swiss German!). A tiny bit of Spanish. Individual words in a few other languages.

15. How many siblings do you have?: A sister and two half brothers. My brothers are not related to each other.

16. What is yourĀ favouriteĀ shop?: I… don’t think I have one? Maybe TK Maxx.

17. FavouriteĀ restaurant?: I don’t knooooow. I did like Bratar in Karlsruhe, but favourite? Hmm. We went to a lovely restaurant in Basel recently – Safranzunft.

18. When was the last time you cried?: I’m not sure, but I’m willing to bet a book was involved!

19. FavouriteĀ blog?: Oh, lots. Kezzie‘s, Holly‘s, Charlotte‘s…

20. FavouriteĀ movie film (sorry)?: A League of Their Own, Dogma, Clue, Edward Scissorhands. Sorry, I’m useless at picking just one of anything.

21. FavouriteĀ TV shows?: E.R. (still and always!), Buffy the Vampire Slayer (hmm, need to watch it again), The Big Bang Theory, Farscape, Blackadder.

22. PC or Mac?:Ā PC

23. What phone do you have?: An ancient BlackBerry. It was a gift.

24. How tall are you?: 5ft 6 – I think.

25. Can you cook? Yes! I love cooking, but not when it’s just for myself.

Did you learn anything new about me?

If anyone else decides to give this a go, let me know – I’d love to come and have a read. You can see Ellie’s answers here.

20 thoughts on “25 Get to Know Me Questions

  1. I love these kinds of posts! They’re always very interesting to read, so thanks for sharing. We have several things in common! My middle name is also Ann (as is my daughter’s). I’d also include a Bette Midler song among my favourites – “The Rose”. I’m with you on not being able to pick a top or favorite book, film, drink… I sometimes wonder why we’re so eager to rank things. Favourite book? Depends on my mood! I was a big fan of ER in its hayday as well, and my husband and I always watch Big Bang Theory!

    I’ve been a bad blogger lately, lacking inspiration to write much. Perhaps I’ll give this a go. Is it cheating to change some of the questions, though? šŸ™‚

    1. I would say if you can think of a question that reveals something more interesting about you go for it – it’s your blog šŸ™‚ I already changed all the spellings of “color” to “colour” šŸ˜‰

      1. Ha! And ‘favorite’ to ‘favourite’! I’d probably change them back again! šŸ˜‰ (though actually I like the British spellings better) I don’t know if I’d think of more _interesting_ questions…we’ll see.

  2. It’s funny, I’m the opposite with nr. 25 šŸ˜‰ I love to cook for myself and my boyfriend, but if I have to prepare a meal for more people I get really nervous – everything needs to be right and I worry they won’t like my food! lol

  3. This is a very interesting post – it’s always great to learn something new about someone. One of the most interesting facts is that your two brothers are not related to each other. Of course, I know how that would have happened, but it is odd to think about. Or is that just me? If I did a post like this I would struggle, too, with things like favourite film, favourite book, favourite music – I am impressed that you managed to narrow them down to short lists! šŸ™‚

    1. It is odd that my brothers aren’t related, but becomes slightly more obvious when I say they are my half brothers (although I don’t think of them that way!). Even more confusing is that my step-dad is from Africa, so one of my brothers is not white… that confuses people completely!

  4. Unfortunately a dog license (HundefĆ¼hrerschein – ridiculous) is a thing in Germany too. Or at least in my state (Niedersachsen). Like you, I want one SO BAD, but it doesn’t fit out lifestyle (or rental contract) right now šŸ˜¦

    1. It’s not just a licence, although you need one of those too. You need the certificate from the course to get a dog, then you need a licence for the specific dog. Once you’ve done a course you can get another dog without doing another course, but will need a licence for that dog as well.

  5. I’m so touched!!!!!! Thank you! No one has ever said that before!!!! Thank you! I like your blog lots too!!!
    Good answers!!! Ha, I could have predicted both of your favourite subjects!! I like TK Maxx too! Ahrgh,dog license! They used to have those in England didn’tthey!!x

    1. I also liked German, just to be thoroughly predictable! And history too. Hated maths and geography.
      You need a course/certificate AND a licence here. In Germany you need a dog licence but don’t need a course to make sure you’re a fit doggy parent. I actually like the idea of the course -I know a few dog owners in the UK who could use one!

  6. I enjoy these types of posts. I always learn something new & different…plus, I always find things that I can relate to (like our mutual love of books and potatoes). I’ll probably borrow/steal this in the future.

  7. I’m a Louise middle named person… I know many people with that name too. I’d rather just have no middle name haha.

    Ah, some of these questions are easy, but the favourites ones I can never answer! Although I’d be tempted to steal them at some point for something nice and easy to blog about!

  8. I’m a huge admirer of the Swiss policy on dogs, we Brits just don’t know enough about our pets. Surely anyone who wants one enough would do the course?

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

