Recent doings #5

It’s time for another What’s New With You? linkup with Gretchen and Kristen, which means it has also been a whole month since the last one. I’m not entirely sure how that happened. The year is one third over already, guys! What?! How?!

I scheduled this post to publish yesterday, while Jan and I were out hiking, so it would appear on actual link-up day, but apparently WordPress chose to ignore me?! So instead you’re getting it in place of Friday letters…

What's New With You

 

Reading. I picked up Possession by A.S Byatt again (and fiinally finished it on the train home from work yesterday. Another Big Read book down!). I aso read I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith on the flight back from New Zealand. It was interesting, and so different to 101 Dalmatians! There were some other quick reads in between as well, but those two are the main ones.

Watching. I was going to say we didn’t watch anything in April (except for like breakfast TV, which Jan puts on every morning!), but then I remembered that we started watching Mr. Robot again on 30th April so it totally counts 😉

Going. (That seems like an odd descriptor, but it was too close to really be called travelling). To Allschwil for April’s destination for Take 12 Trips (in case you missed it, I’m taking the challenge again).

DSCN8076
Houses in Allschwil

Eating. Camel’s milk chocolate! We bought it in Dubai. Honestly, it didn’t taste particularly different to normal chocolate – and it wasn’t even all that great. I’m not really sure what I was expecting though.

Cross stitching. A new home card for a pen pal. I’ve also been working on something bigger, but I can’t tell you about that yet (you never know who reads here…)

Looking. For furniture. We actually managed to order a wardrobe, which will be delivered in June (why so long?!), but balcony furniture is proving more of a challenge. It’s surprisingly difficult to find stuff that a) we both like b) actually fits on our smallish balcony and c) isn’t either ridiculously expensive or terribly cheap (in terms of quality; cheap price wouldn’t be a problem if it wasn’t already scratched from being stored badly!).

What did you do in April? Check out the linkup to see how everyone else spent the month.
4 thoughts on “Recent doings #5

  1. Our balcony is very narrow too, and I found it hard to find furniture to fit. What’s there needs to be squeezed past but it’s still quite pretty. Just big enough to sit out with an apèro to admire the view (of the cemetary, public toilets, car park and Maison de Retraite! Still nice enough if you lift your eyes higher to the hills beyond!!)

  2. thanks for linking up with us! i can’t believe the year is one third over already,. it’s crazy. camels milk sounds odd. i like chocolate milk though so maybe i should give it a go one day. i have i capture the castle on my list, i was like what on earth does that have to do with 101 dalmations? i had no idea the author was the same. learn something new everyday lol

  3. I really enjoyed Mr Robot! There’s going to be a second season which I’m excited to watch.

    Furniture shopping is the worst… I do not envy you! Good luck with it 🙂

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

