Book Challenge by Erin 5.0

books

Yes, another reading challenge. Am I insane? Possibly. This one is being hosted by TexErin and will run from 1 July to 31 October 2016, so it starts a month after Megan’s challenge but goes on for a while after it so I should have enough time…

For this one, the books have to have at least 200 pages.

Here are the categories/my preliminary list. I’ve tried to use mostly BBC Big Read books seeing as I still have over 100 to go and just over 2 years to do it in…

  • 5 points: Freebie – Read a book that is at least 200 pages. I’m probably going to read Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, and I would just like to point out how annoyed I am that I couldn’t find a copy under the original, British title (which was Cross-Stitch in case anyone cares)
  • 10 points: Read a book that starts with the letter “R”. Would you believe there are only three books on the Big Read with titles starting with an R? And I’ve read two of them already. So River God by Wilbur Smith is my only option.
  • 10 points: Read a book with five words in the title. The Diary of a Nobody by George and Weedon Grossmith. Jan got it for Christmas, so that’s handy (my grandma is buying him classics)
  • 15 points: Read a book that has a (mostly) blue cover. Possibly Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer if the copy I’ve ordered actually turns out to have a blue cover. Otherwise I might read The Dandelion Years by Erica James, even though it’s not on the list.
  • 20 points: (Submitted by Barbara A. Wild; she’s a twin and is a mother to twins.) Read a book with twins as characters. I love twin books! I thought Double Act by Jacqueline Wilson was the only book on the Big Read list with twins and it’s not long enough, but it turns out The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy has twin characters, so that one then.
  • 20 points: (Submitted by Christina Mapes) Read a book from the following list of books made into movies: http://www.popsugar.com.au/…/Books-Being-Adapted-Movies-327… Frankenstein is on that list, Frankenstein is on the Big Read. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley it is.
  • 225 points: (Submitted by Stef Thompson) Read a book set in a country you have always wanted to visit. Shogun by James Clavell is set in Japan. I’m not sure I’ve always wanted to go to Japan (as a child I mostly wanted to go to Disneyland), but I’ve wanted to for a long time. I have zero interest in reading this book though, so I hope it pleasantly surprises me!
  • 30 points: (Submitted by Linda Young Zajac) Read a historical fiction book. Katherine by Anya Seton is an option. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett is as well (although I keep putting that one off because it’s so long!)
  • 30 points: (Submitted by Ericka Blankenship) Read a music related book. (i.e. a memoir from a musician, singer, band, roadie, producer, groupie, music journalist, etc. OR a fictional book with a lead character that is a musician, music teacher, etc.) Ugh, nothing on the Big Read list is music themed! I do have to read non-fiction for my 35 before 35 though, so I might read Ozzy Osbourne’s biography.
  • 35 points: (Submitted by Ferne Merrylees) Read a book originally published over 100 years ago. This one should be easy – half of the Big Read is classics. Long, long classics. Why did people pick such long books as their favourites? We own Tess of the d’Urbervilles (thanks grandma!) so that’s an option, I suppose. 592 pages though! Kim by Rudyard Kipling is only 368 pages, so maybe I’ll read that instead.

Wanna join in? Submit your preliminary list by 15th June. There’s a Facebook group here, or you can keep track of your progress via Goodreads or your blog, as long as you let Erin know.

Have you read any of my choices? What did you think of them?

11 thoughts on “Book Challenge by Erin 5.0

  1. I would totally switch Outlander to the historical fiction category. Only because that larger point value motivates me! haha It’s a great read though. It actually motivated me to read one of my current reads, The Pillars of the Earth. I’ve been terrified of big books for some reason! (Totally just realized you mentioned that very book!) I’m only about a hundred pages in so far, but it’s very good. I wasn’t sure that I would like it, based off of the description but the author does a good job of drawing you in. I think it helps that this was his 2 year long passion project!

  2. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on Shogun. I remember my mother watching the mini-series when I was a kid, and she was so engrossed. Thanks for joining the fun!

  3. You have some hefty books chosen for this challenge, but you can totally do it! I loved Outlander, but I had no idea that the British version was called Cross-Stitch!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

