Summer reading challenge completed!

I finally finished Megan‘s 2016 summer reading challenge… just now! I read the final page of The Potato two minutes ago. Phew! At the end of month 2 I was on 135 points. Here’s what I read in month 3:

5 points: Freebie! Read any book that is at least 150 pages long.

I read Brave New World by Aldous Huxley for this category. It was… not what I was expecting. I thought it was a dystopian novel, but it turns out it’s utopian. Also I was surpised by all the free sex – mainly because one of my classes in Austria read it. One of my classes of 13 year olds that is! I can only imagine how the immature boys in my school would have reacted to that… Anyway, the book started off okay but mostly I found it kind of weird. I gave it 2 stars.

10 points: Read a collection of short stories or essays. (Sincerely hoping novellas count as short stories here!).

I read Different Seasons by Stephen King. This book almost would have counted for the film category – three of the four novellas have been turned into films and I’ve seen two of them! The novellas are Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (filmed as The Shawshank Redemption), Apt Pupil, The Body (filmed as Stand By Me) and The Breathing Method (not a film as far as I know). None of these books are actually horror, although the events of Apt Pupil can certainly be viewed as horrific! But all of them confirmed for me why I believe Stephen King is a master storyteller. 5 stars (although The Green Mile remains my favourite Stephen King book).

20 points: Read a book that you have previously only seen the film (movie) of. (Subitted by me so not completing this category would have been embarrassing!)

I read Papillon by Henri Charrière. Despite the fact that I had read the film, I only vaguely remembered the story as “something about Steve McQueen escaping from prison by jumping off a cliff??”. You can tell the film made a great impression on me! SO I went into the book with some trepidation – honestly I was only reading it because of the BBC Big Read! So I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really, really enjoyed this book. It wasn’t always the best written (or maybe that was the translator?) but it didn’t matter because it felt like I was sitting down to chat with the author. Actually, I bet this would be brilliant as an audio book! I gave this one 5 stars as well.

30 points: Read a microhistory.

And finally we come full circle… as mentioned, I read The Potato by Larry Zuckerman for this. As the title suggests, it’s all about the humble spud. But actually it’s more than that… it’s a social history of Europe (and briefly of America) with chapters explaining why the potato was so slow to gain popularity (first superstition about root vegetable, later it was known as a food for the poor and as a “lazy” food… and English peasants wouldn’t even eat it for decades because the Irish did, and although they were poor they weren’t that desperate). I enjoyed reading this but I would have preferred more information on the actual potato itself alongside all the (fascinating) history stuff. Also, it kept making me crave potatoes! 4 stars.

So, overall this was my best reading month of this challenge, with only Brave New World being not that enjoyable (although short enough that I should have got through it quicker than I did… if only I hadn’t got bored part way through!).

My next task is to complete Erin‘s challenge – for which I read precisely one book in August!

10 thoughts on “Summer reading challenge completed!

  1. Congrats! I read Different Seasons many years ago and I enjoyed it. I read it after I discovered that Shawshank Redemption (one of my all time favorite movies) was based on King’s short story. I’ve never been a fan of King’s scary stuff, but after reading these short stories, I appreciated his versatility as a writer.

    1. I think most people thought that about books they had to read in school 😀
      We hardly read any of the things people usually do! Just Macbeth and a tiny part of Great Expectations. No Brave New World, no Lord of the Flies, no 1984!

      1. Oh we had 1984, Lord of the Flies, King Solomon’s Mines and Emma in addition to Brave New World. I didn’t enjoy any of them (although I grudgingly admitted the King Solomon’s Mines wasn’t quite as awful as I had expected it to be when I finished it for summer reading one year) and I don’t remember finishing Emma, so I’m not quite sure how I got away with that!

  2. I chuckled when you said you finished reading The Potato… I was all, “really, The Potato… someone titled their book that”… I just found that a little amusing 🙂

    I want to read more Stephen King books, they have a lot in the library that I want to get to at some point, and I have a few on my Kindle, I just haven’t got around to reading them yet! I’m also not sure which one to start with either! There’s so many! I did enjoy Under The Dome, but that was a monster of a book… I’m thinking something smaller for the next one.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

