Three Things

I am still pretty tired from the weekend (visitors and concerts are fun but there wasn’t much sleep involved!) so today’s post is a relatively easy one. I still need to catch up on travel posts, but the idea of sorting out photos is just too much right now!

I stole this post from Kristen who got it from Steph, as these things go in blogging. Kristen said she copied it because 3 is her favourite number. My favourite number is 13 – I just liked the look of this post. (On a (totally irrelevant) side note, a similar sort of thing called “four things” was going round on Facebook again recently and one of the categories was four places you have lived. A girl I went to school with had the town our high school is in as her only place. I can’t even imagine having never lived anywhere but a town of 16,000-ish residents ever!).

fountain
Three things I’d never give up

Books, tea, travel.

Three favourite vegetables

Everyone is saying potatoes, but in my world they’re not vegetable vegetables, so excluding potatoes: butternut squash, leeks, aubergines.

Three shows I watched faithfully from beginning to end

That is actually really hard! I watched E.R. right to the end, but not from the beginning (I was like 11 when it started but I only discovered it in around season 7), I watched Dawson’s Creek religiously for ages but never saw the episodes where they had all grown up and left home, I stopped watching Buffy in protest when Oz was written out (what? I’m in love with Seth Green!). I only watched Bad Girls until about series 5 or 6. Basically I can think of nothing! I mean, I’m all caught up on Sherlock (just release the next series already would you!!) but I’m guessing that doesn’t count since it’s still running. Plus I watched series 1 all at once on DVD rather than when it came out on TV.

Three places I want to visit inside the US

Umm… there aren’t any. If I was going to the US I would probably be able to find places to visit, but there are no places I would go to the US specifically to see. And now every American hates me. Sorry!

Three places I want to visit outside the US

Iceland, Canada, Japan (wow, it was hard to narrow that down!).

Three things I always have with me

Residence permit (you have to have it on you at all times), keys, purse (the kind for money, not the container for all your things. That’s called a handbag!).


Three things that are always in my car

Can’t drive, don’t have a car. Next!


Three most recent phone calls were to/from

Jan, the doctor… ummm… probably work.


Three books I read and loved in college

American college, I presume, so university as opposed to sixth form. Um, apart from books I used for research, which I obviously didn’t read all the way through, the only books I read were for my German culture module and I hated all of them, so I’ll have to do books I read while at university but not for university. It’s Okay, I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers by Louise Rennison, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontรซ aaand, ummm, what else did I read around that time? Oh Emil und die Detektive (Emil and the Detectives) during my year abroad for a course I took on detective stories for children. So there is one I read for my studies. Sort of.

Three most often used makeup products

Lip gloss is the only makeup product I really use regularly. Sometimes I feel the urge to use colourful eyeshadow. And that’s it. I own other stuff, but only use it on special occasions so it’s all used equally (in)frequently.

Three things that make me laugh

The Big Bang Theory, my godson (or rather the things he says that his mum posts on Facebook since I never actually see him!), other people laughing at puns/jokes that really aren’t funny but somehow are (the more they can’t stop laughing the funnier I find it).

Three things that make me cry

Any books where anything even a tiny bit sad happens (except The Fault in Our Stars. I am possibly the only person that didn’t cry at that book.), stories about animals doing amazing things for humans, when I’m really, really exhausted and there’s no way I’m going to get near a bed for a long time.

Oh, that was the last category. Why did it have to end on a sad note?!

Anyway, it’s your turn now! Answer in the comments if you don’t feel like doing a whole post on it.

21 thoughts on “Three Things

  1. I do like a good tag! I laugh at the Big Bang too and i’m pretty lucky to have been to Canada and Iceland.I would go back to both! I would love to visit Japan.If you can watch it Joanna Lumley’s Japan is very good.xx

  2. I love this post! And as an American, I surely don’t hate you for saying there’s no place there you want to visit. I have no bucket list items there either (or rather wouldn’t have if I had a bucket list!). Big Bang Theory is one of our favorites, though the current season is too much relationship and not enough geek stuff for our taste. Shows about service dogs get me all choked up, too! And I had to smile at your make-up answer; I don’t even use lip gloss! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Purse vs. handbag: my mother-in-law is from northern England.
    me: “Darn it, I can’t find my purse.”
    her: “Isn’t it in your handbag?”
    me: “Errgg.”

  3. you know, I think I might steal this idea! I need a blog post idea as I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus.

    I’m with you, potatoes are not veggies. They go next to the veggies!

  4. A sample of answers from me:

    Three things I’d never give up
    My American citizenship (although I’ve entertained the idea of dual citizenship because that is possible between America and Australia), wearing fun shoes (back in the day, my faves were lime green reebok hi-tops; now, mine are sequined Converse), my love of live music

    Three favorite vegetables
    potatoes (but if potatoes aren’t allowed), green peas, carrots, raw broccoli…I don’t think I even know what an aubergine is. Going to google…..

    Three places I want to visit outside the US
    Queenstown NZ, Japan, Scotland

    Three things I always have with me
    phone, book, ponytail holder

  5. i can’t imagine only living in one place like that either. gives me the heebie jeebies just thinking about it.
    POTATOES ARE TOTALLY A VEGETABLE! okay whatever. i don’t consider them a proper vegetable but i’d eat them every day if i could.
    seriously with the next season of Sherlock though.
    i don’t hate you with the american answer hahaha.
    i bawled my bloody eyes out in the fault in our stars. i cry easily though.

  6. Well, if you ever make your way to the U.S., I would recommend going to Yosemite National Park in California. ๐Ÿ™‚ You know, I don’t really remember crying during The Fault in Our Stars, either… BUT, I did goof up and saw the movie first, so I knew what was coming. That probably desensitized me to some degree.

    1. Aaah, my boyfriend has been to Yosemite! I bet it’s amazing, as is the Grand Canyon, etc. I just don’t really feel the need to fly all the way out there specifically to see them. Actually, if I did go to America it would be to visit a friend, not a place, so technically California is where I would go but only if she doesn’t move elsewhere ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. hello, I popped over from Kezzieโ€™s blog as sheโ€™s just answered these questions (and I might too, 3 is also my favourite number).
    I had to chuckle at your purse comment, Iโ€™m in total agreement. Itโ€™s a handbag!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

