Friday letters – the autumn weather edition

Aaah, it’s that time of the week again… the day that I bombard you with mini letters to the universe and you pretend you find them entertaining.

Shall we get started?

Postkasten

Dear clocks. I hear you’re going back this weekend. That always feels like the beginning of the end of the year. To be honest, I’ll be quite pleased when it’s over. Not because of all the celebrity deaths… I’m just hoping for good things in 2017.

Dear nuthatch. That’s twice I’ve seen you on my balcony now and both times I was nowhere near my camera. Come back soon, okay?

Dear tree by the balcony. Was it really only two weeks ago that I was praising the beauty of your yellow leaves? They’re almost all gone now and you look so sad with only mostly naked branches t show for yourself.

nearly-naked-tree
The last few leaves are still just about clinging on

Dear rain. I blame you for making all the leaves fall off so quickly. The poor things didn’t stand a chance with you bucketing down on them for 2 whole days!

Dear winter reading challenge. You’d think I’d be all challenged out by now, but I can’t wait to get stuck into you!

Dear comfort food. Your time has come! Now that it’s not too hot to cook I can make soups and curries and chillies to my heart’s content! Hurrah! Also, this is the perfect time of year to drink all the hot chocolate!

That is all. I have work to do! Have a great weekend, dear readers.

15 thoughts on “Friday letters – the autumn weather edition

    1. It’s a brown bird with a yellowish orangeish belly. I wouldn’t have know what it was, but my friend was there the first time it came and she looked it up. I would have posted a photo but it wouldn’t let me get one πŸ˜‰

  1. Daylight savings time doesn’t change in the US until something like 6 November. This is the time of the year when scheduling meetings with our colleagues in Germany becomes a math adventure!

  2. OOh, I love Nuthatches. They are usually so shy! I have to say I LOVED the extra hour in bed today! I slept for soo long!
    Ahrgh, the LEAVES! Having so many tree in my garden is a NIGHTMARE AND a cherry tree on the avenue out the front. SOOOO many leaves to clear up!

  3. You know that I’m a sister-in-arms with these book challenges πŸ™‚
    Yes, nuthatch, please come back, so Bev can take a picture because I have no idea what a nuthatch is!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

