Recent doings #14

Gretch and Kristen are continuing their “What’s New With You?” link up in the new year, and a whole month has already gone by, which means it’s time for the first monthly recap of 2017! January seems to have gone really fast even though I didn’t do a great deal, but to be honest I’m grateful for that because usually it’s the worst month of the year. Anyway… what did I get up? Read on and see:

whats-new

Reading. First I completed Megan‘s challenge, then I completed Erin‘s challenge. Then I read Cold Comfort Farm, which was bizarre, then a book in German called Tod Nach Schulschluss (a fairly decent crime novel involving a murder in an elite boarding school), and after that I attempted to make some progress with The Unbearable Lightness of Being, which I started in May then abandoned due to various reading challenges.

Watching. The Big Bang Theory season 9, which Jan got for Christmas from my family. Also a film called Tale of Tales that was just strange. And the news… mostly while shaking my head at the state of the world. *Sigh*

Eating. Loads of vegetables, in keeping with my goals for the year. Also sweet potatoes. Including this dish that combines the two – a kind of vegetarian shepherd’s pie with sweet potato mash topping:

vegetarian-sheperds-pie

My food photography sucks, but it was tastier than it looks, okay?

We also ate fondue with friends and then raclette with other friends the very next day, but let’s not talk about that…

Cross stitching. A birthday card for my grandma that I forgot to take a photo of, and also a card for a friend’s son.

Buying. Too many books, as always. And a dress that I can’t even wear yet because it’s not suitable for winter weather…

Visiting. Friends just outside Karlsruhe for a birthday party. Then the next day we met up with other friends in Karlsruhe for lunch.

Thinking. About where to go for our holiday this year. So far Iceland, Japan and Canada have been mentioned, but we have yet to make a choice.

Being grateful. For the roof over my head, in a safe (neutral!!) country that has decent health insurance for all residents and where no lunatics or cowards who weren’t even elected* are in charge.

*Looking at you, Theresa May!

What have you been doing recently?

23 thoughts on “Recent doings #14

  1. LOL it must be amazing to be in Switzerland right now with all the turmoil in so many other parts of the world.

    I love the idea of cross stitching! It’s so fun and you can do so much with it!

  2. Don’t even start me on flaming Theresa May. She needs to take a whole parliament full of seats.

    Do you have a recipe for the veggie shepherds pie? It looks right up my alley! I am trying to eat more veg, too. I did a veggie bake which was basically just veg, bechamel sauce, and a heap of cheese and it was delicious.

    1. I basically fried an onion then added carrots, a tin of beans (I used borlotti but you can use any), a tin of chick peas, a tin of garden peas and vegetable stock, seasoned with salt, pepper & a little cayenne pepper then mashed sweet potatoes with butter, a little milk, salt, pepper and a little cumin. Put veg mix into oven-proof dish, spread potatoes over the top, sprinkle on cheese and bake at around 180°C until the cheese melts. Easy!

  3. mm that shepherd’s pie thing looks good. when i make shepherd’s pie i make a vegetarian version for me and a meaty version for KC, but i’ve never tried sweet potatoes as the topping.
    definitely shaking my head at the world lately.

  4. I love cross-stitching! I got a new pattern over Christmas and I’ve made a lot of progress on it, but it’s a big one that will take me a while. Sweet potatoes are yummy in many different forms! Peeling them is annoying, though. The peels always seem so much tougher than the peels on ‘normal’ potatoes, ha!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

