Book Challenge by Erin 6.0: Bonus round

I know, I know… you were hoping for a break from book challenge posts now that I completed Erin’s challenge within a month. Unfortunately for you, there’s a bonus round, and I’m here to share my preliminary list. I do have some travel posts planned as well (need to tell you about New Year!) and I promise they will be coming soon, but for now it’s back to books.

bookchallengebyerin6-0

The categories are the same as for the initial round, but you get an extra 5 points per category this time. Here are my picks. I’m fairly sure I won’t get through them all again, but it’s worth a try.

10 points: Freebie – I’ve already started reading American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis, so that’s my freebie. Apart from being generally disturbing (which I was expecting), it’s full of references to Donald Trump. What’s that all about? I’d never even heard of Donald Trump in 1991, which is when this book came out. Although to be fair I was only 7/8 in 1991 and hadn’t heard of most people ๐Ÿ˜‰

15 points: Read a book that starts with the letter โ€œWโ€ – I have two choices for this. Either Where She Went by Gayle Forman (sequel to If I Stay) or We Never Asked for Wings by Vanessa DIffenbaugh.

15 points: Read a book with six words in the title – I’m trying to read books that are already on my shelves this time round, so my choices seem to be Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (which the lovely Kerri sent me) or All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry.

20 points: Read a book that has a (mostly) green coverThe Day We Disappeared by Lucy Robinson is the only green book on my shelves.

25 points: Read a book with a homonym in the titleThe Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Homonym is obviously tale/tail. Imagine a book called “The Handmaid’s Tail”? I would definitely read that!

25 points: (Submitted by Linda) Read a book by your favourite author – As I said last time, I don’t have a favourite author! And a good job too, otherwise I would have to read another book by Tana French and I’ve read all hers now. This time round I’m choosing Stephen King, who is definitely up in my top 5, and tentatively saying I’ll read The Stand. No promises though – much as I love King’s writing, this book is long!

30 points: (Submitted by Christina) Read a book set in the city/town/state/territory/county/province where you live – Hahaha, this is just hilarious. I couldn’t even find a book set in Basel the first time round! I’m going with just Switzerland again as the closest I can get and plan to read Banner in the Sky by James Ramsy Ullman. It sounds ridiculously cheesy, but what can ya do? I hope it will at least be a quick read.

35 points: (Submitted by Peggy) Read a โ€œRory Gilmoreโ€ book – Again, I have two choices. Either The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco or Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. neither sounds like a particularly easy read though.

35 points: (Submitted by Stef) Read a book from a genre that youโ€™ve never read (or rarely read)The Day of the Jackal is a spy thriller, apparently. Since I didn’t even know that was a genre, I think it’s safe to say I rarely read books from it ๐Ÿ˜‰

40 points: (Submitted by Ferne) Read a book with time travel – Maybe I’ll finally get round to reading Outlander? A second option is The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North.

And that’s it for this round. Have you read any of these? Any suggestions for what to read once I’m done with American Psycho?

 

11 thoughts on “Book Challenge by Erin 6.0: Bonus round

  1. I really really enjoyed the Name of the Rose. It started off slow, yes, but at about the half-way mark it turned into a real page-turner for me. If that happens for you, too, I wouldn’t worry so much. Also, if you decide to pick that, we can talk about it after you’re done and while you’re reading or whenever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I’d read and loved The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. I didn’t realize she had another book. I will definitely look for that one! Good luck!!

  3. I kept meaning to ask if the book arrived, so I guess this means it did haha! Your arrived too, thank you again! I haven’t started reading it yet though. It’s a gorgeous book!

    I had a read of HP before I sent it to you and I thought it was a lot of fun – if you take it as it is and ignore all the plot holes and whatnot.

    I have The First 15 Lives of Harry August on my kindle, so I’d be interested to hear if you enjoy that one.

  4. Oooh I should change my 6 word pick to HP… I haven’t had a chance to get to that one yet!!! I was really nervous about Anna Karenina when I read it, but it seriously surprised me!! I thought it was pretty darn accessible! Don’t be afraid, you can tackle it! I really want to read The Handmaid’s Tale. The Hulu show looks intense and awesome! (not that I didn’t want to read it before that! hehehe) XO – Alexandra

    Simply Alexandra: My Favorite Things

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

