Friday letters

Finally it’s Friday! Music to my ears this week… work has been busy, particularly the last couple of days (somehow I have about 6 translations that are all due today?!). Actually, my working week still won’t be over after today – we’re having an open day thing tomorrow, so I’ll be on a train heading into the office at 7:15 a.m. But that’s a different kind of work at least… less brain power required. And then next week I’m off! Not that I’m doing anything, I just had to use up some holiday from last year.
Buuut anyway… letters time!

letter box

Dear IKEA. I am looking forward to you bringing my new furniture on Monday. Finally my tights will have a proper place to live!

Dear spare room. I am so sorry about the state you are in (world’s worst housewife strikes again…). Don’t worry, you will be sorted out on Sunday!

Dear EasyJet. Considering you are supposed to be a cheap airline the prices you’re giving me are ridiculous! I know we want to fly over Easter, but that’s still no excuse to charge over €100 for a one way flight!

Dear parcel delivery people. Is it really necessary to hold down the doorbell button for ages? No wonder I have a heart attack every time it rings!

Dear books. I don’t know what I would do without you! You are my escape from all the problems and horror in this world (although the book in the book I’m currently escaping into isn’t one I would particularly like to be in either…).

Right, that it for today. Happy weekend, dear readers. I hope the weather where you are is better than here!

8 thoughts on “Friday letters

  1. I didn’t know that you’re a translator! I translated a children’s book with my daughter once – that was a lot of fun. Then I got offered a part time job as a translator with a small local company. It meant I could work from home and be there for the kids. Perfect you might say. No. I didn’t like it at all. The company produced items I’d never heard of (very technical and I hadn’t got a clue about it). Then the German part was quite badly written, with a lot of mistakes. I really wanted to do a good job so I got quite stressed about it. They even asked me to translate legal documents which I was really unhappy to do, as I am not qualified to do so and if something goes wrong… I stopped translating and went back to teaching which suits me much better. Then last year a philosopher asked me to translate some papers for him. It was all a bit odd and for various reasons became quite stressful. I think the two experiences have put me off somewhat!
    It’s my office that’s a mess. I need to tidy it up again too!!

  2. I am often battled by airfare prices.
    My house is in disarray, and I need to do something about it. Well done, you, for planning to have it all organized soon.
    Books…sigh…I have a post in draft right now that is a “love letter to books”.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

