The books I read in March 2017

It’s hard to believe I’ve never actually participated in this link up before! Usually I would have some other opportunity to list recent reads and I wouldn’t want to have too many book posts. But I’m currently between reading challenges and the next one isn’t starting for a while, so I might as well tell you about the non-challenge reading I’ve been doing recently. I know some people break things down into categories, but I’m just listing my books in the order I read them.

I am linking up with Jana and Steph.

show-us-your-books-2016-300by300

First of all, in case anyone hasn’t already seen my final check-in post, I read all these books in March for the bonus round of Erin‘s challenge.

And now on to the other books I read in March…

The Lying Game by Sara Shepherd – For some reason I didn’t realise this was part of a series, then I was really confused when the end came (especially because my copy contained a preview of book 2, so I thought there was more left than there actually was…) then just as it started getting interesting it ended. Aargh! Most of the plot wasn’t really believable to me (how could anyone not realise that their daughter wasn’t, in fact, their daughter – especially after she literally told them at the start!) and 90% of the characters just weren’t likeable. But once I suspended ALL my belief it was actually kind of interesting. 4 stars.

The Hidden Gallery by Maryrose Wood (book 2 of the Incorrigible Children series) – This one was even better than book one, and I really liked book one! The first book spent a lot of time setting the scene though, whereas more seemed to happen in this one. I was slightly annoyed by all the entirely unsubtle references to book 1 – it was like the author assumed I hadn’t actually read the first one! But apart from that it was great. 4 stars.

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix – This book has been on my wish list since about 2008! The idea sounded so intriguing – the life of a family’s third son in a world where the law forbids people to have more than two children. Unfortunately the book was a lot shorter than I was expecting and took ages to really get going. In such a short book I would have expected the action to start sooner! There are about a million books in the series though (well, 7) so I suppose it gets going properly later. Also, I think it’s aimed at younger children than I thought – I was expecting YA but it seems to be more for 11-12 year olds. 3 stars for this, but I will probably still give book 2 a chance.

Smart by Kim Slater – I loved this book, enough that I read it in one sitting even though it was pretty long and I ended up reading way past my bedtime. It reminded me a bit of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but I loved that book as well. I loved Keiran, the (presumably autistic) narrator and was really glad things worked out for him in the end. An added bonus was the setting – it takes place in Nottingham, which is where I studied. 4 stars.

The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham – I initially intended this to be my “genre you rarely read” book for Erin’s challenge (science fiction), but I had to rearrange things after I’d already read it. I enjoyed this one more than I expected. It’s one of the more interesting disaster/end of the world books. For some reason I was under the impression that the “Triffids” were alien plants that came to Earth on a comet and started attacking/blinding people, but actually they are very much man-made… 4 stars.

Never Have I Ever by Sara Shepherd (book 2 of The Lying Game) –Β  I decided to give this series another chance, and I’m glad I did. This book was much better than the first one. Finally the “mean girls” are starting to show that they do have some personality under all that nastiness. I will have to keep reading because I really want to know whodunnit! 3.5 stars (4 on Goodreads because I tend to round up).

The Unseen Guest by Maryrose Wood (book 3 of the Incorrigible Children) – Still enjoying the series. I think they are getting better as they go along. This one still referred back to the previous two, but in a much less annoying way. More secrets are coming out, and I think I am starting to guess some connections but I need to keep reading to be sure. 4 stars.

The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood (book 4 of the Incorrigible Children) – I had an evening to myself so I read this immediately after the previous one. This has been the best installment yet! Finally we got one or two answers, although I wish Miss Mortimer would reveal what she knows already. Only two more books to go (and book 6 isn’t even out yet!). How will I cope? 5 stars.

Super Awkward by Beth Garrod – Just snuck this one into March, as I read it on the 31st! I thought this was going to be like the Georgia Nicholson books, and in a way it was, but Georgia is much funnier – or maybe it’s just that I was younger when I read Angus, Thongs, etc. and could relate to it more? Anyway, at first I found this book really annoying. I kept thinking do teenagers really talk like that these days? In text speech? Do they really say things like “obvs” OUT LOUD? Am I old? Honestly, I thought about not finishing it, but I was reading in the bath so I didn’t really have another option to hand. Then things started to pick up more and I decided I did kind of like it after all. I would probably have loved this book to death at 15, but at almost 34 I’m afraid I’m too old for it. *Sigh*. 3 stars.

And that’s it. March was a most excellent reading month!

In case anyone is actually still here and interested, IΒ  am currently reading The Sense of Style by Steve Pinker. It’s really good so far, but I’m useless at reading non-fiction so I’m getting through it at snail’s pace!

Have you read anything good lately?

22 thoughts on “The books I read in March 2017

  1. So I love all of Sara Shepard’s books and I think that it’s because they appeal to my love of teeny-bopper books. They tend to be unbelievable, but I still can’t get enough! I really enjoyed The Lying Game series, maybe a little bit more than the Pretty Little Liars series because she actually ended that one at an appropriate time and didn’t keep it going like PLL.

    1. I just couldn’t believe that NOBODY realised she wasn’t who she said she was. I mean, the dad even noticed a scar that wasn’t there before and didn’t put 2 and 2 together with the day she literally said “I AM NOT SUTTON!”. I can’t imagine anyone in the world is that good an actress…

  2. Sounds like a great reading month!! I definitely want to read Smart now! Among the Hidden was one of my favorites as a kid. I think when you haven’t read anything dystopian it’s extremely mind blowing. I remember reading at least the first 4 and I remember enjoying them. Haddix was my favorite middle grade author. πŸ™‚ I think if you’re older and *have* read things that are dystopian or whatever, they aren’t nearly as surprising as they are when you’re 11 or 12 years old! XO – Alexandra

    Simply Alexandra: My Favorite Things

    1. Yeah, for some reason I thought Among the Hidden was “proper” YA, like for 15-16 year olds, so I ended up being surprised at how simplistic it was! I probably would have had different expectations if I had realised from the start that it was aimed at younger readers.

  3. I can’t believe you’ve never participated in this link-up either because I know, and you know, that you are all about the books πŸ™‚
    Now, I’m off to check out goodreads and some of these books you enjoyed…

  4. I’m shocked you haven’t done this link up before! I really enjoy it, it’s a good chance to chat about books with a whole bunch of people.

    Ah, it really bugs me when you read the second book in a series (or any book) and it feels the need to constantly reference and remind you of the previous book. I wouldn’t say no to a little summary at the start, but once the book starts, I’d just like to focus on the current story.

    I definitely think I’ll give the Incorrigible Children series a go sometime!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

