Book Challenge by Erin 7.0 – Preliminary list

After radio silence for so long, you’re now getting two whole posts in row. Wooo! There’s only one thing that could possibly bring me out of hiding, and that’s books of course 😉

BCBE7

The categories are out for Erin’s next book challenge and I am so excited! There are some really cool categories this time. However, I do have to say I am disappointed that there is no book with a seven word title. I was convinced there would be so when I realised the title of a book I had bought actually contained seven words I saved it up specially. How could you, Erin? I feel betrayed! 😉 Luckily I managed to fit the book into a category anyway so all is forgiven. Anywaaaay… without further ado, I give you my preliminary list.

But first, a brief recap of the rules: Although the categories are out now, the actual challenge doesn’t start until 1 July. All books read between then and 31 October count, provided they fit into a category and have 200 or more pages. You can only read one book per category, but you can go through the categories in any order.

5 points:  Freebie – Read a book that is at least 200 pages

There are a few I could go with, but for now I’m saying A Seven Letter Word by Kim Slater.

10 points:  Read a book that starts with the letter “B”

Broken Silence by Danielle Ramsay. I can’t wait to read this one! It’s set in Whitley Bay, which is near where my family is from.

10 points:  Read a book that has a (mostly) yellow cover

Alfie Bloom and the Talisman Thief by Gabrielle Kent just arrived, and the cover looks pretty yellow to me! The only difficulty here will be forcing myself to wait until July to read it. Eeep!

15 points:  Read a book that has a picture of an animal on the cover (submitted by Mattie)

How to Look for a Lost Dog by Ann M. Martin has a picture of a dog on the front. Count the words people. Count them! Notice how there are seven!

20 points:  Read a book that was published in 2017 (submitted by Olya)

Aaah… I hate reading new books – I like to get cheap second.hand copies when everyone else is done. *Sigh*. I have chosen The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. New copy very reluctantly ordered.

20 points:  Read a book with a compass or cardinal direction in the title (submitted by Mary)

Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vida. I’ve never read anything by this author before but this sounds intriguing.

25 points:  The ALA’s “Banned Books Week” occurs while our challenge is happening.  Read a book from this list of the most commonly banned books in America: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_most_commonly_challenged_books_in_the_United_States (submitted by Christina)

I have chosen Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson purely because I already own it. And I’m only a million years behind the rest of the world with reading this one 😉

I’m thinking of Silence is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher  because I really want to read this one, but I’m not sure whether elective mutism counts as a mental illness? I also have All the Things We Didn’t Say by Sara Shepard (the blurb says the dad “descends into mental illness”) and Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford as back ups.

Hey, I picked this one! I will read either Jonathan Livingstone Seagull by Richard Bach- the protagonist is a seagull – or Seraphina by Rachel Hartmann – the main characters are dragons!

35 points:  Read a book a Disney movie was based on OR a book based on a Disney movie (submitted by Kirsten); Don’t forget to check that the book is at least 200 pages: https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Category:Novels_first_published_in_serial_form&pageuntil=Dune+Messiah#mw-pages; https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/11716.Books_Turned_Into_Disney_Movies
I’ve wanted to read Bambi by Felix Salten for ages, so that is my choice. I also want to read The Fox and the Hound by Daniel P. Mannix, so if I get through all the categories I might read that for the bonus round.
If you want to participate, you can join the Facebook group (I haven’t because I prefer my full name not to be directly linked to my blog), the Goodreads group or just check in via your blog. As long as you somehow let Erin know how many books you’ve read each month she will include you in the scores list.
And now to cross stitch as much as possible for the whole of June so I have plenty of time for reading once the challenge starts…
If you’re joining in and you have a list of your choices, feel free to let me know in the comments so I can drop by and add even more books to my ridiculously long to-read list 😉
7 thoughts on “Book Challenge by Erin 7.0 – Preliminary list

    1. I did but I hadn’t resisted reading that one specially so I didn’t feel the need to mention it 😉

      That’s why I love these challenges – I get to read such a range of books that I may never have come across.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

