Showing the Germans how it’s done

So, my Christmas dinner went well again. There was way too much food, of course. That’s the whole point in Christmas dinner, isn’t it? Actually, we seem to have ended up with more leftovers than usual, although I didn’t think I had made more food. Perhaps people weren’t as hungry this time?
Anyway, here’s what we ate:

Food, glorious food
Food, glorious food

For the starter, aubergine rounds and very garlicky tomato bruschetta (delicious!).
Then came the main course. You probably can’t tell what everything is from the photo, so here’s a list:

  • Turkey (obviously…)
  • Bread sauce (home made)
  • Spicy sausage meat stuffing
  • Bread stuffing with herbs (not pictured – it eventually went were the aubergines or on here – made by my friend K)
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Roast potatoes
  • Broccoli (yuck! That one was for the others…)
  • Carrots
  • Honey-roasted parsnips
  • Pigs in blankets – made with Bratwurst!
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Gravy
  • And home made lemonade to drink (plus some passion fruit flavoured sparkling wine that I picked up purely because the label had a picture of a multi-cultured lizard that I thought was cute)

Here’s a picture of just the turkey. It was perfectly cooked – even if I do say so myself, which I kind of have to since there’s nobody else here to say it for me. Not too dry, but not undercooked either (every year I am paranoid about poisoning everyone!).

I swear it's not the same turkey as in my last post...Turkey 2010

Desert was an apple and raisin crumble with Amaretto, again made by K. By this stage in the proceedings, I had forgotten all about cameras, so there are no photos of it. Never mind, I’m sure you all know what crumble looks like. And for the record, it was delicious!

I’m knackered now (didn’t get to bed til around midnight!), but it was worth it. And at least I don’t need to worry about what to cook for the rest of the week. Turkey with everything it is!! Here’s how I’m making tonight’s tea…

Leftovers

8 thoughts on “Showing the Germans how it’s done

  1. Well done you!!! I am going to make a simple roast dinner on British Christmas day for Milo and I this year and have promised to bring a crumble to the German Christmas day celebration on the 24th to add a bit of British flair πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

