Bad Bergzabern

The day we went to Sukie’s for breakfast was so gorgeously sunny that it seemed a waste to spend it indoors doing housework, so after breakfast Jan, K and I decided to drive over the Bad Bergzabern for the afternoon. I knew nothing about the town other than that it was close (about 40 minutes drive from Karlsruhe) and the Internet said it had pretty buildings. What we found was a quaint little town that was just starting to show some signs of autumn colours. It was a beautiful day for a walk, so walk we did. I don’t really have much to say about the town, so this post will basically be a giant photo dump. Here are some of the town… my favourite thing was the bright red leaves on some trees in front of a church:

We also went for a walk around the Kurpark, or spa gardens. Like all towns with “Bad” in the name, Bad Bergzabern is a spa town. The park was still pretty green, with just a few hints of yellow and red starting to show up – everything stayed green for much longer than usual this year!

When we’d had enough of walking around, we stopped at a café for a drink then headed back to the car. On the way home, we stopped off at a roadside stand to buy some Neuer Wein (new wine), i.e. wine that hasn’t yet matured and still tastes a lot like fizzy grape juice (but don’t drink it like grape juice or you will regret it!). It was a lovely Sunday afternoon with unseasonably fantastic weather. And Bad Bergzabern is quite a nice little town as well – quaint, as I said above (actually, that description came from my dad when I posted the photos on Facebook). There’s not a great deal to do there, but on a sunny day it’s a lovely place for a wander around.

14 thoughts on “Bad Bergzabern

  1. This looks lovely! I havent been to Germany for about 16 years, so I think it’s about time I went again, am thinking skipping the beach holiday next year and take a small trip round Europe by train. If only I had lots of money to travel!

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!