A Photo an Hour: Christmas Dinner Day

When Jane from Is That You, Darling said she was going to be hosting her next Photo an Hour session on the sam day I was making my annual Christmas dinner for friends, I knew immediately I would have to join in. Every year I post a few photos of the turkey or the food-laden table… this year, you’ll be getting a behind-the-scense look, so to speak. I couldn’t always stop what I was doing straight away, so most of my photos were actually taken at 10 or quarter past the hour, but I’m labelling them with the full hour anyway…

8 am. Up far too early on a Saturday! But my new slippers almost make up for that 🙂

Elmo slippers

9 a.m. A large cup of tea is needed before I can face starting all the cooking!

Large tea

10 a.m. Making a list of timings and foods so I don’t forget anything! (Now you get to see my terrible handwriting…). The list says “sweet potato dip” but I ended up doing an avocadon one instead because Jan didn’t go shopping early enough.

To-do list

11 a.m. Decorating… because you can’t have Christmas dinner without making the flat look festive, too!

xmas decs

12 noon. This marks the start of a whole lot of photos taken in the kitchen. Look how sexy my apron is 😉

Apron selfie

1 p.m. Preparing the starter… could this be the biggest garlic clove EVER? (Pictured next to half a lemon for scale).

Garlic and lemon

2 p.m. Two dips down.. two more to go!

salas and bean dip

3 p.m. Chopping and peeling for the main course has commenced…

carrots

4 p.m. Time to make the stuffing. First step: Chop up the celery…

Chopped celery

5 p.m. Making progress! These pans contain potatoes, bread sauce and stuffing.

Pans

6 p.m. Time for the carrots to join the potatoes in the oven.

food in oven

7:30 p.m. (Because at 7 I was too busy taking things out of the oven and putting other things in bowls to take a photo). Most of the food is on the table… do you think I made enough? 😉

Christmas dinner

8 p.m. Dinner time! And a bonus photo for you… the actual “photo an hour” picture is the one on the right. Ten minutes earlier, I took a photo of my starter even though it wasn’t photo time yet.

… and that was the point where I stopped taking a photo and hour because I was too busy stuffing my face and chatting to my friends. I did take more photos of the evening, but most of them are of people and none of them were taken at an assigned hour.

And in case you were wondering, the verdict on my Christmas dinner was: delicious! (A special shout out goes to my friend K, who made an amazing sweet potato side dish and also provided dessert!)

32 thoughts on “A Photo an Hour: Christmas Dinner Day

  1. Yum! This makes me really excited for my own Christmas dinner with friends on Christmas day. 😀 I’m not hosting, but I’ll probably make a salad or something. I might even pick up a pumpkin pie if I’m not too lazy to go to Costco. Oh, but you’re from England, right? So pumpkin pie basically means nothing to you. 😉 Have you ever tried it? I introduced it to a few people earlier this fall and they loved it, even when they thought they might not like it at all.

  2. I love that you get together with friends for a Christmas dinner – even though it’s a lot of work – I think, in the end it’s so worth it. We used to have people over all the time but friends either moved away or we lost touch for various reasons and now we don’t do it nearly enough. I miss it!!! Maybe a good resolution for 2014 – to make the time and effort!!! Merry Christmas!!!!

    1. Prinzessbohnen… I don’t know what they’re called in German. They’re a type of bean. I actually didn’t even end up making them though!

      My friend made chocolate Guinness cake for dessert.

      1. My grandma usually gives me stuff other people gave her. That’s why I have a nightie that’s 4 sizes too big, slightly worn leather gloves and a tea towel I can read through 😉

    1. I love photo an hour posts. They’re so fun.

      The slippers are from Primark. When I came home with them, Jan said “But you’ve got loads of pairs of slippers.” Me: “But not ELMO slippers!!”

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!