35 Before 35 – An update

Now that my 30th birthday has passed, I thought it was time to take a look at the progress I’ve made so far on my 35 Before 35 challenge .

First of all, a request. I’m up to 32 things on my list (which you can view here), which means I still need three more! Any suggestions? Some of the things on there are probably going to be quite expensive (hot air balloon ride! Stay in a five star hotel!), so maybe something that isn’t going to break the bank…

So, how far have I got with the items that are already on the list? I’ll do this in numerical order, I think…

Number 3: Learn Spanish. Welllll, I joined Memrise, used it for about three days, then completely forgot it existed. And I haven’t been on Duolingo for months. Not the best start…

Number 13: Read (or re-read) 50 non-fiction books. I have read two so far – The Importance of Being Trivial by Mark Mason (scroll right down in the linked post – I wrote about it briefly after my revew of Emma) and What Are the Seven Wonders of the World? And Other Cultural Lists: Fully Described by Peter D’Epiro.

Number 15: Read 20 books in German. I put this one on the list because I almost never pick up books in German when there are English ones to be read! I’ve managed three German books since starting the challenge though: Schattenfreundin by Christine Drews, Schwesterlein, Komm Stirb mit Mir by Karen Sander and Mordsfreunde by Nele Neuhaus. All three are crime novels – it’s difficult to find much else by German authors, and I prefer to read books that were written in English in the original!

Number 18: bake 10 different types of biscuit (cookie for the Americans). I’ve baked one type of biscuit so far, Chocolate Cherry Cookies. You can read all about that here.

Number 21: Read all those books from the BBC Big Read Top 200 list of books that I haven’t before. That makes a total of 132 books, and so far I have read 6: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, Emma by Jane Austen, A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving, Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks, The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher and To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee.

Number 28: Play blacklight (glow-in-the-dark) minigolf.  I did this in Berlin, and posted about it here.

I think I’ve made a pretty good start to the challenge. Hopefully I can keep it up!

18 thoughts on “35 Before 35 – An update

  1. When I was in Germany a couple of weeks ago, I discovered a new (to me) author: Rafik Schami. I love him! I’m in the middle of “Eine Deutsche Leidenschaft namens Nudelsalat”, and laughing out loud every three minutes.
    Like you, I don’t like reading translations, and neither do I like Krimis.

    1. I think it depends. I have read some good German ones, but I also started reading a German one that I never actually managed to finish because it bored me to tears! I have also read some excellent English ones.

  2. OH NO!! I can’t believe I missed your Birthday 😦 Super sad face! I’m really sorry! Belated Birthday wishes though, did you have a good one? You’re doing better than me with my 35 before 35 – I’d forgotten all about it, better have a little revisit! I still need to add stuff to mine as well – I’ll think about what we could both add…

  3. Here’s my suggestion as it’s always something I want to try — it’s relatively cheap and all you need are two dice. Let me try to explain it in a semi-coherent way:

    Go to a major train station in your city. Roll the dice to choose your platform (ie. a 3 and 4 will be the 7th platform). Roll again and buy a ticket for the corresponding station. Leave the station and find the first method of transport you can. Roll again, go that many stops. Continue until you can’t go any further (or get totally lost) and have lunch where you end up.

    This is apparently something that people do here in Moscow on the weekend and it sounds pretty fun.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

