11.11.2013. Lest We Forget

For obvious reasons, I couldn’t buy a Remembrance Day poppy here, and I’ve lost the one I had saved from a previous year. But as a squaddy brat, it is important to me to do something to mark Remembrance Day (and Remembrance Sunday) I ordered a poppy necklace but it hasn’t arrived yet, so the best I could do was put a red flower clip in my hair. I don’t even think it’s supposed to represent a poppy – it’s just some red flower that happens to have black in the middle – but it’s the thought that counts, right? The following photo is actually from yesterday… even though I was home alone, I kept the flower in my hair all day for Remembrance Sunday. (And apparantly the white balance on my camera was off… our walls aren’t really blueish!)

Me with red flower

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We will remember them.
~ From the Poem “For the Fallen” by Laurence Binyon

7 thoughts on “11.11.2013. Lest We Forget

  1. I put the girls poppy’s in their hair this year so that they wouldn’t lose them! They are getting to the stage where the older 2 can understand somewhat the significance. They all wanted to wear something red to church on Sunday too. I have pics so I’ll post them to my blog!

    1. I have never done anything on St Martin’s Day. I know you’re supposed to eat goose and children walk around with lanterns. Once, a friend of Jan’s had a “Laternenlauf” theme for his birthday and we got to make the lanterns then we walked around the block with them. It wasn’t actually on St. Martin’s Day though.

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!

