Would you rather…? (Travel version)

I’m sure we all remember the old game where you’re given a choice between two difficult (or disgusting!) things and made to pick which one you would rather do if you had no choice. Well, I saw this travel version over on Diana’s blog a while ago and was immediately intrigued, but I’m only getting round to stealing it now. So, without further ado, the questions…

Madeira sunriseScenario: you have a €10,000 budget for your vacation.
Q: Would you rather fly first class for €5,000 and stay in mediocre accommodation; or stay in luxury accommodation for €3,000 and fly economy?
Hmm, luxury accommodation isn’t that important to me (I only use the room for sleeping and showering!), but then again neither is flying first class. Unless I was flying to Australia or something, in which case a more comfortable seat might help. I think I’ll pick the luxury accommodation option though purely because that leaves me with extra money to spend on experiences during my holiday (I’m just assuming luxury accommodation+economy flight comes to less than first class flight+mediocre accommodation).

Q: Would you rather have an all expenses paid trip to a small town in the Netherlands with your best friends or an all expenses paid trip to your dream destination with your frenemy?
Well, I’m not sure I have a “dream” destination – there are many places I’m desperate to go to – and I had a fabulous time when I visited my friend in Delft a few years ago. Plus I don’t actually live in the same country as any of my friends right now, so the choice is pretty simple. Give me the small town in the Netherlands with friends please!

Q: Would you rather have a cup of tea with Jon Hamm or Josh Homme? (Diana changed this question to “Would you rather have a beer with the cast of parenthood or the original grey’s anatomy cast?” but I’ve never watched either so I’ve reverted back to the original question).
I’ve never actually heard either name, but googling tells me Jon Hamm stars in Mad Men (never watched it) and Josh Homme is the lead singer of Queens of the Stone Age. I like Queens of the Stone Age so I choose him 🙂

Q: Would you rather never take the train or never take the aeroplane again?
(Sorry, but I had to change airplane to aeroplane!). This is actually really difficult! Never be able to quickly get to England again if there was a family emergency or no more day trips? I suppose I’d have to choose never taking the train again and then learn to drive so I can get to the office once a month! I’m assuming trams also count as trains, but luckily I can also take the bus into town from where I live.

Q: Would you rather spend a full day with a thief or with a beggar?
Beggar. I would get them a shower, new clothes and a hot meal and ask them how they ended up in that situation. After having my purse stolen in Paris (with the only photo I owned of my step mum!) I would probably punch the thief!

Scenario: you have won a prize with two options, and you can choose either but not both.
Q: Would you rather spend a year in the USA with a monthly stipend of $1,000 or be ten minutes on the moon?
I have no interest in going to the moon, but a whole year in America sounds like a lot (sorry Americans!). What if I get ill? Would my §1,000 stipend include health insurance – I’ve seen ER guys, I know what happens to uninsured people! I would still choose the US though, and spend the entire year travelling.

Q: Would you rather wake up without your wallet or without your passport and phone?
I had my purse (that’s British English, so it means money holder not handbag!) stolen in Paris and it was horrible! However, cancelling cards, etc. was more annoying than anything else and passports are expensive so I suppose I’d have to wake up without my purse and hope I’d just lost it and it would actually get handed in somewhere!
Q: Would you rather be left behind in the bush on an African safari or Be left behind in the water on a scuba trip?
Both options sound terrifying, but I’m not a great swimmer so the bush would be the better option. I might get mauled by a lion but at least I wouldn’t drown! And hopefully another safari group would eventually come by and find me.
Q: Would you rather loose your luggage but land on time OR land 12 hours late with your luggage intact?
Assuming the late landing was because of a late take off and not because we’d been randomly flying in circles for 12 hours, I’d pick the latter. I’m also basing my answer on the assumption that I’d actually be allowed to leave the airport and wouldn’t be stuck in departures for 12 hours!
Q: Would you rather bike across the US from New York City to San Francisco, or bike across China from Beijing to Tibet?
Umm, I’d really rather not bike anywhere to be honest. I hate cycling! However, since I have to pick one, I want whichever involves the least cycling on the road!

Scenario: you’re stuck on a deserted island, and can only take one book.
Q: Would you rather take the Unbearable Lightness of Being or Dracula?
The Unbearable Lightness of Being because I’ve already read Dracula. I would prefer to have something new (then I’d have to ration myself to only a few pages a day to make it last longer!)

Q: Would you rather be able to teleport to places you’ve been to or only be able to teleport to places you’ve never been before?
Places I’ve already been. Much as I love visiting new places, being able to quickly teleport home if a family member was seriously ill, for example, decides this one for me. If I wasn’t so far from home the decision would be more difficult…


Q: Would you rather be stuck on a seven-hour delay, or turn up at the airport and realise your flight is tomorrow?
Turning up a day early actually sounds like something I would do! Hmm, I think I’d prefer the embarrassment of being early to being stuck in an airport for seven hours. I just hope it would either be the flight out (so I could just go home) or I’d be able to easily find a new hotel room in whichever city I was in.

Phew, finished. That was hard work! If you feel like doing the tag, please let me know in the comments so I can see your answers! The tag originally appeared here.

8 thoughts on “Would you rather…? (Travel version)

  1. Love this idea!

    I would pick luxury accomodation, not because I particularly need luxury, but as it would be longer than the flight, I would pick it this time. I would go for tea with Jon Hamm, only because I know who he is (but never watched Mad Men either)! I would also choose to soend the day with a beggar for the same reasons as you gave – and I would rather the seven hour delay as I am a very patient person!

  2. I would definitely go to the US for a year! But the planes or trains question… now that’s a tough one. I think I’d say, no planes, since you can get plenty of new places by train and there are always boats to take you across the water 🙂

  3. $1000 a month is not enough to live in most cities in the US. That’s well below poverty level. Now if that stipend was in addition to your regular salary, you’d do just fine. 😀

Leave a comment so I know you stopped by!